Back to TrueCost
Yale Smart Video Doorbell - Black
YaleSmart video doorbell

Yale Smart Video Doorbell - Black

Battery-powered or hard-wired smart video doorbell using the Yale Home app. The product provides 1080p video, two-way audio, motion detection, night vision and local recording without a subscription. The identified model is SV-VDB-1A-W, EAN 5052847126110. Yale is a brand of ASSA ABLOY. ([yalehome.co.uk](https://yalehome.co.uk/yale-smart-video-doorbell-uk/?bvstate=pg%3A3%2Fct%3Ar&utm_source=openai))

UK retail price

£129.00

Verified today.

Estimated landed cost

£36.50

Modelled manufacturing and landed-cost estimate.

Price comparison

Retail vs estimated landed cost

Difference £92.5
Retail price£129
Estimated landed cost£36.5

Cost share

28%

of retail price

Retail multiple

3.5×

Retail price divided by estimated landed cost.

Difference

£92.50

Not profit. Other costs sit between landed cost and retail.

Confidence

75%

Evidence and modelling confidence.

Last analysed

today

Retail price checked today.

Another perspective

Independent AI analysis

The supplier's case

The retail price may sit above the estimated landed cost because the landed-cost estimate covers mainly production and delivery, while the retail proposition may also reflect software and product development, after-sales obligations, channel costs, commercial risk and brand value. However, the evidence does not show how much Yale or its retail partners actually spend in these areas, so the remaining difference cannot be treated as profit or as fully justified.

Plausible assumption

Connected features may require development and testing beyond factory production

The doorbell combines video capture, night vision, two-way audio, motion detection, local storage, rechargeable power and app or smart-home connectivity. If these features required substantial hardware, firmware, app integration, security testing and ongoing compatibility work, some related cost would sit outside the estimated manufacturing and UK landed cost. This is an inference from the feature set, not evidence of Yale’s actual development expenditure.

Plausible assumption

Service, software support and warranty obligations may add cost

A connected security product may require customer support, troubleshooting, software maintenance, cloud or app infrastructure and warranty or return handling over its selling life. These costs could contribute to a retail price above the physical unit cost, but the supplied research does not establish that Yale incurs any particular amount or even which services are included in the price.

Plausible assumption

Retail and distribution may add several layers of commercial cost

The retail price may need to accommodate distribution, warehousing, retailer operations, returns, promotional activity and retailer margin. These costs are not part of the stated landed-cost estimate. Their presence and scale are not documented for this product, so this should not be read as an assertion that the entire difference is absorbed by retailers or distributors.

Plausible assumption

Inventory and product-risk costs may be reflected in pricing

A supplier may price in the risk of holding stock, forecasting demand, handling unsold or returned units and supporting a product whose electronics and software can become outdated. Such risk could help explain a price above the cost of one successfully sold unit, although no sales volumes, stock levels, return rates or obsolescence data were supplied.

Plausible assumption

Brand positioning and willingness to pay can influence the price independently of cost

A recognised security brand may be able to charge for perceived reassurance, convenience, ecosystem compatibility and trust. Customers’ willingness to pay can therefore influence pricing even when it is not matched by an equivalent increase in landed cost. This does not demonstrate that the positioning is effective, or that the resulting price is fair.

What this does — and does not — explain

The landed-cost range is modelled rather than verified: there is no teardown, bill of materials, factory quotation, chip-level component list, production volume, supplier contract or factory-specific cost disclosure. The estimate also excludes VAT, retailer margin, marketing, corporate overhead, product development and profit, while the evidence does not quantify service, warranty, software, distribution, inventory or returns costs. The product page documents features but does not establish R&D or warranty expenditure. Consequently, the unexplained difference cannot be called profit, and the available evidence cannot fully justify the retail price.

An independent TrueCost perspective, not a statement from or endorsement by the supplier. Based on research available on 7 September 2026.

Cost model

What makes up the estimated cost?

TrueCost models the major components, manufacturing, assembly, packaging and landed costs required to produce the product.

Main electronics and communications PCB

Electronics

Allowance for the main PCB, 1080p image-processing SoC, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connectivity, flash storage, power management, motion-detection electronics and supporting passive components. Exact chip selection is not disclosed.

£9.80

26.8%

Rechargeable battery and charging/power system

Battery and power electronics

Estimated cost for the 6500 mAh rechargeable battery pack, battery protection circuitry, USB-C charging components and wiring.

£5.20

14.2%

Camera, optics and infrared night vision

Imaging hardware

Covers the CMOS image sensor, lens assembly, infrared illumination components and optical/mechanical integration required for 1080p video and approximately 6 m night vision.

£4.30

11.8%

Weather-resistant enclosure and sealing hardware

Mechanical components

Estimated moulded housing, front panel, IP65 sealing elements, fasteners, status-light window and internal brackets. Exact enclosure materials are not published.

£4.20

11.5%

Factory assembly, programming and functional testing

Manufacturing process

Includes PCB population, mechanical assembly, battery installation, firmware loading, camera/audio/Wi-Fi checks and final functional testing at production scale.

£4.50

12.3%

Mounting plate, wedge, fixings and wiring accessories

Accessories

Covers the mounting plate, mounting wedge, security pin, screws, 3M tape, wire caps, fuse and related installation accessories listed with the product.

£2.80

7.7%

Audio, motion and indicator subassemblies

Electromechanical components

Allowance for microphone, speaker, amplifier/audio support, motion-sensing elements and status indicator components not separately priced in the research pack.

£1.80

4.9%

Retail and protective packaging

Packaging

Estimated printed carton, protective inserts, bags, documentation and labels for a relatively compact 220 g consumer electronics product.

£1.50

4.1%

Inbound freight, import handling and duty allowance

Logistics and import

Allowance for consolidated China-to-UK freight, export handling, customs clearance and a modest duty exposure. Recoverable UK import VAT is excluded.

£2.40

6.6%

More detail

Explore the analysis

Open any section below to see more about the evidence, methodology and assumptions behind this estimate.

Estimated cost range

£28.00 – £50.00

The central TrueCost estimate is a modelled value. The plausible range reflects uncertainty in component pricing, manufacturing, assembly, freight and other landed-cost assumptions.

Analysis freshness

Fresh · Full analysis today

Full TrueCost analysisFresh

7 Sept 2026 · today

Retail priceFresh

7 Sept 2026 · today

Retail prices are rechecked after 30 days when the product is requested. The full manufacturing and landed-cost analysis is refreshed after 180 days.

Evidence quality

8 research sources · 75% confidence

Official product sourceFound
Retail price verifiedFound
Specifications foundFound
Teardown evidenceNot found
Manufacturing locationFound
Overall confidence75%

Research sources

8 sources used

CPC/Farnell Yale Smart Video Doorbell

Recognised electronics distributorManufacturing-origin and compliance information

Identifies the exact manufacturer part number, China as country of origin, RoHS status, tariff classification and package contents.

Yale Smart Video Doorbell - official UK product page

Official manufacturer product pageProduct identity, SKU, EAN, features, included items and UK list price

Confirms the Yale Smart Video Doorbell model SV-VDB-1A-W, EAN 5052847126110, core features and contents.

Yale Smart Video Doorbell datasheet

Official manufacturer datasheetTechnical specifications

Provides the 1080p camera, 154-degree field of view, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, IP65 rating, dimensions, weight, storage, audio specification, battery capacity and power options.

AO Yale Smart Video Doorbell - Black

Recognised UK retailerExact product identification and country of origin

The supplied page identifies the product as Yale Smart Video Doorbell - Black, SKU SV-VDB-1A-W, and lists China as country of origin. The accessible page did not expose a numeric current price.

Screwfix Yale Wired or Wireless Smart Video Doorbell Black

Recognised UK retailerCurrent retail price and technical specifications

Lists the model as SV-VDB-1A-W at £129.99 including VAT and provides 1080p resolution, CMOS sensor, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, 6 m night vision, 154-degree viewing angle and 8-24 V power information.

Safe.co.uk Yale Smart Video Doorbell

Recognised UK specialist retailerCurrent retail price and specifications

Lists the product at £129 and provides EAN, IP65 rating, 1080p resolution, 6 m night vision, 154-degree viewing angle and wireless connectivity.

Boots Kitchen Appliances Yale Video Smart Doorbell

Recognised UK retailerCurrent retail price and country of origin

Lists the exact product at £129 and identifies China as country of origin.

Wickes Yale Smart Video Doorbell - Black

Recognised UK retailerCountry of origin and product details

Identifies model SV-VDB-1A-W and reports China as country of origin; also provides product features and technical-sheet access.

Model assumptions

7 assumptions

  • The product is manufactured in China, consistent with the supplied retailer country-of-origin records.
  • The estimate is for a production-scale unit rather than a prototype or very small batch.
  • The enclosure is treated as a moulded weather-resistant polymer assembly with seals and metal fasteners; the exact material is not disclosed.
  • The main electronics allowance includes the 1080p CMOS camera system, image-processing/Wi-Fi electronics, PCB, flash storage and power-management circuitry, but not individually identified chip part numbers.
  • The battery allowance covers the integrated 6500 mAh rechargeable lithium battery, protection circuitry and USB-C charging interface.
  • Freight and import allowance assumes consolidated China-to-UK shipment. Import VAT is excluded as normally recoverable by a VAT-registered importer; duty is assumed to be low or zero, with a small allowance for customs and handling.
  • No teardown or factory quotation was available, so the range reflects uncertainty in chipset, memory, battery, enclosure and supplier pricing.