Back to TrueCost
Tefal Dual Easy Fry 8.3 L Dual Drawers Air Fryer EY901N40
TefalDual-drawer air fryer

Tefal Dual Easy Fry 8.3 L Dual Drawers Air Fryer EY901N40

A black dual-zone air fryer with two independently usable drawers: a 5.2 L larger drawer and a 3.1 L smaller drawer, giving a combined capacity of 8.3 L. It has synchronised finish functionality, seven cooking programmes plus manual mode, digital touchscreen controls, dishwasher-safe drawers and grids, and a claimed 15-year repairability programme.

UK retail price

£99.99

Verified today.

Estimated landed cost

£50.50

Modelled manufacturing and landed-cost estimate.

Price comparison

Retail vs estimated landed cost

Difference £49.49
Retail price£99.99
Estimated landed cost£50.5

Cost share

51%

of retail price

Retail multiple

2.0×

Retail price divided by estimated landed cost.

Difference

£49.49

Not profit. Other costs sit between landed cost and retail.

Confidence

76%

Evidence and modelling confidence.

Last analysed

today

Retail price checked today.

Another perspective

General context

The supplier's case

Making a product is only part of running a business. These general considerations explain why selling prices can exceed landed costs; they are not verified claims about this supplier.

A product-specific supplier analysis is not available yet. It is produced with new and fully refreshed cost analyses.

Plausible assumption

Development and support

A supplier may need to recover design, testing, software, customer support and warranty costs across the units it sells.

Plausible assumption

Getting a product sold

Retailer margins, marketing, warehousing, returns and unsold stock can affect pricing beyond the costs already included in the landed-cost estimate.

Plausible assumption

Taxes and premium pricing

Retail prices may include taxes. Brand positioning and what customers are willing to pay can also influence price, independently of production cost.

What this does — and does not — explain

These factors do not establish how much this supplier spends, what profit it earns, or whether the price is fair. Some of the difference may reflect premium pricing. The gap between retail price and estimated landed cost is not profit.

An independent TrueCost perspective, not a statement from or endorsement by the supplier.

Cost model

What makes up the estimated cost?

TrueCost models the major components, manufacturing, assembly, packaging and landed costs required to produce the product.

Plastic housing, control fascia and structural moulded parts

Raw materials and manufacturing processes

Includes injection-moulded heat-resistant plastic outer shell, drawer surrounds, internal supports and touchscreen fascia. The unit is listed as plastic construction, but exact resin grades and moulding specifications are undisclosed.

£8.50

16.8%

Cooking drawers, removable grids and non-stick coating

Physical components and finishing

Covers the two metal cooking drawers, removable grids, handles and applied non-stick coating. The larger 5.2 L and smaller 3.1 L drawers add material and coating complexity compared with a single-basket fryer.

£6.80

13.5%

Heating elements and thermal protection

Electrical and physical components

Allowance for the high-power heating assemblies, thermal cut-outs, mounting hardware and heat shielding needed for the 2,700 W dual-zone appliance.

£5.20

10.3%

Air-circulation fans and motors

Electrical and physical components

Estimated cost for fan impellers, small motors, mounts and airflow ducting serving the cooking zones. The exact motor arrangement is not publicly specified.

£3.80

7.5%

Control electronics, touchscreen and display

Electronics

Includes control PCB, microcontroller, power switching, temperature sensing, digital display/touchscreen interface and synchronised-finish functionality for two cooking zones.

£7.20

14.3%

Power input, wiring, UK plug and safety hardware

Electrical components

Includes approximately 0.90 m power cord, UK plug, internal wiring, connectors, fuses, switches and electrical safety components.

£2.20

4.4%

Insulation, seals, silicon pads, fasteners and miscellaneous parts

Physical components

Covers thermal insulation, silicon grid pads, screws, brackets, gaskets and other small parts described in the manual or required for safe assembly.

£2.60

5.1%

Factory assembly, testing and quality control

Assembly labour

Allowance for assembly of the housing, heating and fan systems, wiring, drawer fitting, firmware/control testing, electrical safety checks and final inspection in China.

£4.50

8.9%

Retail carton, inserts, manuals and protective packaging

Packaging

Estimated printed carton, moulded or fibre protection, plastic protection where required, manuals, labels and export packing for a roughly 7.8 kg appliance.

£2.40

4.8%

Factory overhead directly attributable to production

Factory overhead

Allocation for production-line utilities, tooling amortisation, factory supervision, maintenance, compliance checks and manufacturing-floor overhead.

£2.80

5.5%

International freight, insurance and UK import handling

Logistics

Estimated consolidated sea freight from China plus cargo insurance, port handling and routine UK import logistics on a per-unit basis. Actual cost varies materially with shipment volume and destination.

£2.80

5.5%

Estimated import duty

Import costs

Provisional allowance for UK import duty on the customs value. The exact tariff classification, origin treatment and customs valuation were not supplied, so this is intentionally approximate.

£1.70

3.4%

More detail

Explore the analysis

Open any section below to see more about the evidence, methodology and assumptions behind this estimate.

Estimated cost range

£38.50 – £53.50

The central TrueCost estimate is a modelled value. The plausible range reflects uncertainty in component pricing, manufacturing, assembly, freight and other landed-cost assumptions.

Analysis freshness

Fresh · Full analysis today

Full TrueCost analysisFresh

7 Sept 2026 · today

Retail priceFresh

7 Sept 2026 · today

Retail prices are rechecked after 30 days when the product is requested. The full manufacturing and landed-cost analysis is refreshed after 180 days.

Evidence quality

7 research sources · 76% confidence

Official product sourceFound
Retail price verifiedFound
Specifications foundFound
Teardown evidenceNot found
Manufacturing locationFound
Overall confidence76%

Research sources

7 sources used

Tefal UK — User manual and FAQs: Dual Easy Fry 8.3 L Dual Drawers EY901N40

Official manufacturer product/support pageProduct identification and official features

Confirms the EY901N40 reference and identifies the dual-drawer 8.3 L product, dishwasher-safe parts, sync cooking, repairability claims and cooking functions.

Tefal UK — Dual Easy Fry Air Fryer 8.3 L product page

Official manufacturer product page for the closely related UK variantTechnical specifications and materials

Lists 2700 W power, 220–240 V, 50–60 Hz, 8.3 L capacity, UK plug, 0.90 m cord, plastic construction, non-stick coating, 200 °C maximum temperature, two grids and approximately 1.4 kg cooking capacity.

Argos — Tefal Easy Fry EY901N40 8.3L Dual Air Fryer

Recognised UK retailerCurrent price and product specifications

Lists EY901N40 at £99.99, with 2700 W power, 5.2 L plus 3.1 L drawers, 80–200 °C temperature range, dimensions, weight, EAN, programmes and two-year guarantee. Also states the coating is PTFE and PFOA-free based on Tefal customer-care information.

Currys — Tefal Easy Fry EY901N40 8.3L Dual Air Fryer

Recognised UK retailerCurrent price and technical specifications

Lists the product at £99.99 and provides power, capacity, drawer split, touchscreen/LCD controls, dishwasher-safe parts, dimensions, weight, cord length, programme list and box contents.

John Lewis — Tefal Easy Fry Dual Drawer Air Fryer 8.3 L Black

Recognised UK retailerManufacturing country and cross-check specifications

Identifies model EY901N40 and gives China as the country of origin, with 2700 W power, 8.3 L capacity, dimensions, 7.8 kg weight and two-year guarantee.

Tefal EY901N40 Dual Easy Fry user manual

Product manual mirrorConstruction and component information

The manual describes the large and regular drawers, removable grids, digital touchscreen panel, time/temperature display, silicon grid pads, dishwasher-safe parts and the internal heating element. It states that the bowl and grid have a non-stick coating.

Groupe SEB — Tefal brand page

Official manufacturer corporate pageBrand/manufacturer relationship

Confirms Tefal as a Groupe SEB brand.

Model assumptions

6 assumptions

  • Costs are estimated in GBP for a normal-volume production run in China, not a prototype or very-low-volume purchase.
  • The product is manufactured in China and imported into the UK; freight reflects consolidated sea freight and ordinary import handling rather than air freight.
  • Import duty is estimated using a modest effective rate for a small kitchen appliance; VAT is excluded because it is generally recoverable by a business importer and is not a manufacturing cost.
  • The non-stick coating is treated as a sprayed or applied PTFE-type coating, consistent with retailer-provided product information, but its exact chemistry and application cost are not publicly disclosed.
  • The estimate includes factory-level direct overhead and production quality control but excludes brand-level R&D, advertising, corporate overhead, warranty reserves and retailer costs.
  • No model-specific teardown or bill of materials was available, so the range reflects uncertainty in electronics, heating assemblies, coating, factory pricing and logistics.